_Bearing wheels preview
by Xi Jin
_About me and these wheels
I have been fingerboarding for about 11 years on and off although my involvement with the online scene is limited. As of this moment writing this review, I am sponsored by Close Up only with no affiliation to any other company. I hope you trust that this is an unbiased review as I intend it to be. These wheels should be the 11th type of fingerboard bearing wheels that I have owned, not including multiples of the same model. I have been skating these wheels as part of a setup for roughly 2½ weeks. The setup I have mainly been testing the wheels with is comprised of a Pure 26mm deck, Wangster tape, self-shaped China regular trucks and the Cartwheels. I also briefly set the wheels up on a BW setup too mainly to match colours for the pictures. I have tested these wheels indoors only. This is my seventh fingerboard product review (preview in this case) and I hope it is sufficient in detail and interesting to read. I personally prefer text-based reviews as opposed to video reviews as the reader can choose to read it at their own pace instead of being forced to follow the speed of the reviewer and who can often trail-off topic.

I apologise for the cameraphone pictures which do not focus on such small wheels very well.
Picture
Konata with the setup
More setup pictures

Company Profile
Cartwheels is a new British wheel company masterminded by the Dark Lord, Simon Cartledge. I personally suggested the name and it is so awesome that he is using it. Simon has been experimenting with many different prototype wheels with different cores and sizes. Including Simon and myself, there are 2 other fingerboarders who are testing these wheels for feedback and improvement. As Simon is a friend and an awesome guy, I will be previewing a set. I love that he is further increasing the UK's status in the worldwide fingerboard scene and I hope it may achieve and surpass Arctic's status one day.

There is currently no website for Cartwheels he has accounts on FBHQ, FFI and YouTube which I shall note at the bottom of this preview.

Transaction Details
Price: Free for doing this preview
Shipping cost: n/a
Time to arrive from Leicester UK to Leeds UK: 1 day

Packaging
The wheels came in a little baggie as standard for most wheels. However, I am told the final packaging is much more professional with the wheels being packed in a matchbox with custom graphics on it. Everything was in a larger bubble mailer envelope to ensure they arrived in great condition. Also included was a special tool made from a metal tube (Simon calls this the Polecart ;D). This tool is included with all sets of wheels as standard TD, Close Up or BR tools won't work. The Polecart should work with all kinds of different hardware though.

_
_Craftsmanship
I don't know much about making wheels but I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice the wheels were. The first thing I noticed was that these wheels were much smaller than most wheels, they are softer but the most interesting thing is the metal core on the inside of the wheel, inspired by the design of Ricta skateboard wheels. The craftsmanship is pretty great as the wheels roll really smooth and the cores all look pretty nice. Initially, I did not think the bearings rolled very well but after about a week of wearing them in, they were fine. I know that Simon isn't responsible for the bearings but just be patient and wear them in. They are backless, single bearing wheels which is actually my preference. The core and bearing in each wheel are perfectly in line with the front/back of the wheel. I should also note that the wheels I received are still test versions and I imagine final versions could be even better.
Picture
Wheel front
Picture
Wheel back
Picture
Comparison of sizes between Cartwheels and No Comply Roll9s
Picture
Comparison 2
_As you can see here, the wheels are much smaller than the general wheel sizes.

Compatibility with trucks
I apologise but I have not tested the wheels with every major truck brand but I can confirm that they work great with China regular or wide trucks and Close Up G4 trucks (with the hangers for bearing wheels).
Picture
All blue setup: BW BR blue camo, Close Up G4 trucks, Cartwheels
_Performance
I've tried a small variety of wheels now and these wheels are great. In the modern fingerboard wheel market, I see a lot of wheels that are almost the same, conforming to a generic style of wheel. The wheels I really love not only have to perform great but should also bring something new with them. Examples of wheels with great features are Close Up & Oak with urethane grip/printed wheels, Substance with transparency, Winklers with screeching sounds and Flatface with ceramic bearings. What you have with Cartwheels are a softer smoother ride with the Nylon material, a different size of wheel, aesthetically pleasing metal cores, a nice blue colour and backless bearing design. These wheels are softer than every other wheel I have tried, not including Close Up or Oak urethane wheels. At the same time, I find reverts relatively easy and fun. I have no problem doing any tricks I normally do with these wheels and the size of the wheels make all those tricks more fun.

As someone in the UK, buying wheels from other countries could be very expensive so if you live in the UK, you could do worse than saving some cash and supporting a local company. If you like smaller bearing wheels, definitely try them.

You'll be glad to hear that's the end of another long ass review.

I must mention that this preview is just what I think about the wheels. Reading/watching multiple reviews by different people is definitely recommended. Since this is a preview, you will have to go on what I said, wait for another review or find someone who has them and try them out.

How to buy them
As this is a new company being developed, I do not have all the details for purchasing some. I believe the wheels should be priced at £15 (equivalent to €17.21 or $23.48). I also don't know if this includes domestic or international shipping. I have received information from Simon that we are in the final stages of testing. After the 3rd tester of the wheels has given feedback on the wheels, production of the first batch of wheels will commence.

As for where to contact the owner, PM Simon: "cartledge" on FBHQ, "scartledge" on FFI or "scartledgefb" on YouTube.
Picture
Looks like a damn skateboard
_You may use this review and pictures, in part or in full, as long as you credit it to me and get permission from me in a PM. Please do give feedback on my review too. I try to be informative with all aspects and details of the product and would love to know what changes you think I should make. Feel free to request a review for anything I own unless you want to offer me a product to review.

Miaow.



Leave a Reply.